‌‌‌University Senate - Member Role Descriptions


 Senate is the principal academic body of the University, responsible to Council for: 

  • the academic plan of the University, its associated academic activities and the resources needed to support them;
  • regulating the academic work of the University in admissions, teaching;
  • assessment and research for academic awards of the University (including Honorary Degrees);
  • the control and regulation of the conduct, discipline and academic progress of the Registered Students of the University; and
  • the management of external examiners and assessors. 

The University’s Articles of Government set out the Senate’s Terms of Reference: Senate Terms of Reference 17-18

Senate meets three times per year and is chaired by the Vice-Chancellor. 


Responsibility for Senate membership (Senate Membership 17-18) lies with the University’s Council who has delegated this responsibility to the Vice-Chancellor. The membership of Senate is drawn from the academic staff and general staff of the University together with members of the Students’ Union. The composition includes the follow groups:

i)             Senior academic staff (Vice-Chancellor, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Pro Vice –Chancellors)

ii)            Deans of Schools and Dean of International Development

iii)           Professional Services staff (Director of Computing & Library Services, Director of Student Services)

iv)           President of the Students’ Union and other members appointed by the Students’ Union

v)            Members elected by and from the Professors

vi)           Members from the University’s academic staff who are elected by their peers

vii)          Members from the University’s general staff who are elected by their peers

viii)         Co-opted members.

Service Directors and the University Secretary are in attendance. The Head of Registry acts as Secretary to the Committee with the assistance of the Head of Registry’s office.

Elected Members

The appointment of elected members is made following a nomination and voting process by their peers. The term of office for each elected member shall be a once-renewable term of three years.

Registry identifies when a member’s term of office is expiring and sends a memorandum to the relevant staff group asking for nominations. If more than the required number of nominations is received, the nominees will be asked to write personal statements. The personal statements will be disseminated to the relevant staff group so that voting can take place electronically.

The Single Transferable Vote (STV) is used. The STV is a form of proportional representation where voters put numbers next to candidates in order of preference. In order to be elected, candidates need to reach a set share of the votes, determined by the number of positions to be filled. Each voter gets one vote, which can transfer from their first-preference to their second-preference candidate, so if a voter’s preferred candidate has no chance of being elected or has enough votes already, the vote is transferred to the second choice candidate in accordance with the voter’s instructions. STV is used because it ensures that very few votes are wasted, unlike First Past the Post, where only a small number of votes actually contribute to the result.

Senate Committees

The Committee Structure Chart shows the relationship between Senate and its committees:

  • School Boards - local management committees.
  • Research Committee - responsible for the strategic direction of research policy and for exercising oversight of the registration, supervision and examination of candidates for the University's research degree awards.
  • Research Ethics and Integrity Committee - responsible for the development and implementation of policy and procedures to address issues related to research ethics and integrity.
  • University Teaching & Learning Committee - responsible for overseeing all matters relating to the development and delivery of taught programmes of study and ensuring the maintenance of appropriate academic standards.


Senate Meeting Schedule 2018/19

7 November 2018

13 March 2018

26 June 2018

Senate Meeting Schedule 2017/18

1 November 2017

14 March 2018

27 June 2018

Minutes of Past Meetings


2 November 2016
22 March 2017
28 June 2017


4 November 2015
10 February 2016
22 June 2016


05 November 2014
11 February 2015
03 June 2015


06 November 2013
12 February 2014
04 June 2014


07 November 2012
13 February 2013
05 June 2013


09 November 2011
21 March 2012
27 June 2012


29 June 2011
16 March 2011
10 November 2010


30 June 2010
11 November 2009


01 July 2009
11 March 2009
12 November 2008


02 July 2008
06 December 2007
09 October 2007


11 July 2007
21 March 2007
06 December 2006