Bank and University Holidays

Academic Year 2020-21

The bank holidays for the academic year 2020-21 are listed below. This also includes the additional closure days for the Christmas & New Year period.

Monday 21 December 2020* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Tuesday 22 December 2020* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Wednesday 23 December 2020* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Thursday 24 December 2020* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Friday 25 December 2020 Christmas Day
Monday 28 December 2020 Boxing Day (substitute Day)
Tuesday 29 December 2020* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Wednesday 30 December 2020* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Thursday 31 December 2020* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Friday 01 January 2021 New Year's Day
Friday 02 April 2021 Good Friday
Monday 05 April 2021 Easter Monday
Monday 03 May 2021 Early May Bank Holiday 
Monday 31 May 2021 Spring Bank Holiday
Monday 30 August 2021 Summer Bank Holiday

The University would therefore be closed from Friday 18 December 2020 and re-opens on Monday, 4 January 2021.

*The above closure days are not a contractual entitlement in the 2020/21 holiday year and creates no precedent in terms of holiday entitlement for future holiday years.

 

Academic Year 2021-22

The bank holidays for the academic year 2021-22 are listed below. This also includes the additional closure days for the Christmas & New Year period.

Thursday 23 December 2021* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Friday 24 December 2021* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Monday 27 December 2021 Christmas Day (substitute day)
Tuesday 28 December 2021 Boxing Day (substitute day)
Wednesday 29 December 2021* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Thursday 30 December 2021* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Friday 31 December 2021* Christmas/New Year Closure Day
Monday 03 January 2022 New Year's Day (substitute day)
Friday 15 April 2022 Good Friday
Monday 18 April 2022 Easter Monday
Monday 02 May 2022 Early May Bank Holiday 
Thursday 02 June 2022 Spring Bank Holiday
Friday 03 June 2022 Platinum Jubilee Bank Holiday
Monday 29 August 2022 Summer Bank Holiday

The University would therefore be closed from Thursday 23 December 2021 and re-opens on Tuesday 4 January 2022.

*The above Christmas/New Year Closure Day are not a contractual entitlement in the 2021/22 holiday year and creates no precedent in terms of holiday entitlement for future holiday years.