The University Council is the principal decision-making body in the University. The composition of the University Council is as follows:


Professor Bob Cryan CBE DL

Vice-Chancellor of the University of Huddersfield

Mr Jonathan Thornton

Chair of Council

Baroness Pinnock of Cleckheaton

Vice Chair of Council

Mr Bernard Ainsworth OBE

External Member

Mr Robert Cox

External Member

Mr Rhys Davies FRSA

External Member

Mr Mark Fisher CBE FRSA

External Member

Mrs Virginia Lloyd DL

External Member

Professor Isobel Pollock-Hulf OBE

External Member

Mr Ajaz Ahmed BEM

External Member

Clare Morrow

External Member

Co-opted Members

Professor Tim Thornton

Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University of Huddersfield

Members Nominated by the Senate (Teaching Staff)

Professor Hazel Bryan

Dean of The School of Education and Professional Development

Revd Professor Jessica Malay

Professor of English Literature within the School of Music, Humanities and Media

Members Nominated by the Senate (General Staff)

Mr Krish Pilicudale

Director of Digital Information and responsible for the University’s Computing and Library Services

Student Member

Miss Millie Avery – SU President

President, Students’ Union

Committee Members

Mr Rob Kelly

Audit Committee

Mr Paul Leigh

Audit Committee

Clerk to the Council

Ms Alison Jones

University Secretary