SENATE

Terms of Reference

The terms of reference of the Senate are set out in paragraph 3.3 of the Articles of Government, which reads as follows:

There shall be a Senate of the University, whose membership shall be set out in rules or bye-laws approved by the University Council.

Membership

- 1. Vice-Chancellor, (Chair), (Ex officio)
- 2. Deputy Vice-Chancellor, (Ex officio)
- 3. Pro Vice-Chancellors, (Ex officio)
- 4. Deans of Schools, (Ex officio)
- 5. Director of Computing and Library Services, (Ex officio)
- 6. Dean of International Development, (Ex officio)
- 7. Director of Student Services, (Ex officio)
- 8. President of the Students' Union, (Ex officio)
- 10. 5 Members elected by and from the Professors
- 11. 7 Members, one from each School, elected by and from the academic staff of each School
- 12. 2 Members elected by and from the academic staff as a whole
- 13. 2 Members elected by and from the general staff as a whole
- 14. 2 Members appointed by and from the Students' Union
- 15. Up to 3 Members co-opted by the Senate

The term of office for each elected Committee member shall be a once only renewable period of three years. Where appointments are made at the same time within a multiple category the term of office should be staggered to allow for the rotation of membership within that category.

In Attendance

University Secretary Director of Estates & Facilities Director of Finance Director of Human Resources Director of International Development Director of Research & Enterprise Director of Marketing and Communications Head of Registry (Secretary)

<u>Quorum</u>

The quorum should be any eighteen of the members of the Senate.

Frequency of Meetings

Senate shall normally meet three times per year and shall report to the University Council.

Delegation of Authority

The Chair to have executive authority to act, in exceptional circumstances, between meetings on behalf of Senate, in consultation with the Head of Registry, and to report any action taken to Senate.

Duties

Subject to the provisions of these Articles, to the overall responsibility of the University Council, and to the responsibilities of the Vice-Chancellor, the Senate shall be the academic authority of the University and in particular responsible for:

- a) the consideration of the academic plan of the University and its associated academic activities and the resources needed to support them and for advising the Vice-Chancellor and the University Council thereon;
- b) the maintenance of academic standards guided by the Quality Assurance Agency UK Quality Code for Higher Education;
- c) making regulations for the admission of students;
- d) making regulations for the examination and assessment of the academic attainment of students;
- e) regulating research degrees and post graduate studies;
- f) the curricula and teaching and learning strategies;
- g) the suspension and expulsion of students from the University;
- h) the appointment, removal and regulation of external examiners and assessors;
- i) making regulations for the conferring of academic qualifications and academic distinctions of the University;
- j) making recommendations to appropriate bodies for the award of academic qualifications, scholarships, bursaries, prizes and other distinctions;
- k) making regulations and recommendations for the award of honorary academic qualifications and titles;
- I) such other matters as the University Council or the Vice-Chancellor may assign to it.